Book Review: Honolulu

    I pulled

Honolulu

    (2009) by Alan Brennert off of the cruise ship library shelf when I ran out of things to read. I could hardly put it down, so it’s a good thing I had some airplane time to finish it! Honolulu tells the story of Regret/Jin, a young Korean woman who abandons her home and family to go to Hawaii as a picture bride in order to create a new, less restrictive life for herself. It is so beautifully written in first person that I didn’t even know it was fiction (and written by a man) until I started to write this review. Brennert’s ability to create a feminine voice in his character is uncanny and his extensive research about Hawaii during its raw territorial period is skillfully woven into the narrative. It’s reminiscent of Michener’s ,

Hawaii: A Novel

    , and since I love Mich, that’s saying a lot. A recommended read for those of you who like historical fiction.

2 responses

  1. Thanks for the recommendation. I really enjoyed this book.

  2. oprah also makes some good book reviews, i always wait for the book reviews of oprah .:`

Leave a comment